My first blog award nomination – honoured and undeserving

I am overwhelmed to have been nominated for The Liebster Award. The lovely and inspirational Nicola Bourne – a mother who is open and honest about her battles with cancer and her life with a colostomy bag (if you haven’t read her blog please do, it is incredible and puts mine to shame)– selflessly put my little blog up for this award.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 18.56.35To be honest, I have no idea why she has nominated me for this. I have been terrible at writing my blog recently, and it has become something I think about doing every day, but somehow, due to illness, work commitments and well, life in general, I never seem to get round to it. I miss not writing, spreading the word about life with an ostomy and ulcerative colitis and not helping other people with my ramblings.

So this has given me a little kick up my well and truly stitched up bottom. I know I have promised a great deal before but this time I vow to start writing regularly, and am going to give this little blog a much-needed revamp – to make it more pretty, easier to navigate and altogether bigger and better to celebrate more than a year since the start of my ostomy adventures.

This award gives me the opportunity to nominate other bloggers, but as with all good things there are always rules to be followed, many of which follow the horrific convention of cringe-worthy introduction games played at conferences. But at the heart of this I get to nominate some incredible blogs, by people who make a real difference by pouring their hearts out to the whole world every single day.

The rules:

  • Post the award on your blog
  • Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog
  • Write 11 random facts about yourself
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  • Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.

11 Random Facts

I have a phobia of Cadbury’s Mini Eggs – I’m getting over it, but I won’t elaborate on the details again.

I once decorated an entire room in post it notes – and I mean an entire room

Autumn is my favourite season. I love the warm clothes, colourful leaves and crisp clear mornings.

If I could do any other job in the world than be a journalist (which I wouldn’t leave for anything in the world) I would either move to Italy and become a writer – sitting in a cafe crafting my novel – or travel to Zimbabwe to work with nurses treating young children and babies needing ostomy bags.

I can’t eat baked beans or sprouts.

I’m a secret watcher (I can’t believe I am about to admit this) of Hollyoaks.

I was born premature, horrendously so, and was regarded as a miracle baby – my Step-Grandad bought an incubator for the hospital in order to keep me alive. I was born with a hole in my heart value, and have been told I died and was brought back to life a number of times. But as I still do now I pulled through at the last-minute – putting my parents through unbelievable hell, as I still do to this day.

My favourite movie is Beauty and the Beast.

I read more crime novels than I would care to admit.

I’m lactose intolerance but sometimes dream in cake, and while I’m polite always have food envy at other’s meals.

I get angry far too quickly, and then usually hear my own voice and have to stop myself laughing.

The 11 Questions Posted by my Nominator

What are you doing for Christmas this year? At this moment I have totally no idea – hopefully the same as last year. Family, friends, good food, wine and health – and appreciating every moment now that I feel well.

Frozen or Toy Story? Do you have to ask? 100% Toy Story….I love all of the films.

Favourite Christmas TV special? Father Ted.

Favourite carol? Jingle Bells

Turkey or Goose? Turkey

Favourite Christmas vegetable? Parsnips cooked in honey – just like mama used to make them

Coloured lights or white lights? Coloured

What colour are your Christmas tree decorations? I currently don’t have any – but I usually have red and gold.

Any family traditions? My dad still jingles his keys in his pocket to pretend the reindeer are coming over the house every Christmas Eve.

Your favourite thing about Christmas? Spending time with the family, and seeing kids faces when they open their gifts

The 11 blogs I nominate

My 11 questions:

  • What are you afraid of?
  • What is the most random thing you have ever done?
  • Which is your favourite season and why?
  • What job would you do if you couldn’t do your current one?
  • Which show do you secretly watch?
  • A random fact?
  • What is your favourite movie?
  • What genre of books do you read the most?
  • What is your favourite food – or what would it be if you could eat it?
  • What is the thing you hate the most about yourself or love if you prefer being happier?

Enjoy and good luck!

5 thoughts on “My first blog award nomination – honoured and undeserving

Leave a Reply

